Just because an activity is full doesn't mean the rest of your clients have to lose out on an opportunity to register. Enable wait lists on your session-based activities to keep track of clients who wish to be notified if a spot opens and give them priority to claim it first.

In this article, you will learn:

  1. How to enable wait lists

  2. How a manual wait list works

  3. How an automated wait list works

  4. What clients and administrators can expect in the store

๐Ÿ‘‰ Do you want to learn more about managing your wait lists? Click here for information on how to manage, remove and register clients on a wait list.

1. Enable Wait Lists

To enable a wait list, go to the Activities>Edit subtab, and click on the activity. Scroll to the Wait list section and click 'Enabled'. You can also mass edit to simultaneously enable the wait list on multiple session-based activities within the same program.

Here are some important things to consider about wait lists:

  • Wait lists can be enabled on session activities only (not drop-ins, nor private lessons). In your online store, clients can add themselves to the wait list if the activity is full. There are 3 types to choose from: a manual wait list, an automated wait list that offers spots in order of registration, or an automated wait list that offers spots to everyone at once.

  • If a spot opens, all participants on the wait list will get an opportunity to register to the activity before it becomes available to the general public. If no one from a wait list claims the spot, it becomes available to everyone in the store.

  • Admins can only add participants to a wait list if they are eligible for the activity. A non-eligible participant can add themselves to the wait list but can't register unless the admin performs the registration on their behalf. In addition, an admin can only add a participant to the wait list when the activity is full, meaning there are no open spots available.

  • Admins with the right permissions can perform actions on the wait list management page.


2. Manual Wait Lists

You can enable the manual wait list for an activity by simply checking the Enabled box under the Wait list section.

This type of configuration lets your clients add themselves to an activity's wait list in your online store. However, when a spot opens up, an admin will need to manually register the participant via the activity's wait list management page.

  • No automatic emails are sent to participants on a manual wait list. An admin can manually send a notification from the Registration subtab by adding a check mark next to the activity, and then clicking on Operations>Send an email to people on a wait list. This email simply notifies the account owner to contact your organization regarding registering for the activity.

  • The admin must click the Skip or Register button in the wait list management page depending on whether or not the participant is interested in registering. Click here for more information on how to manage your manual wait lists.


3. Automated Wait Lists

You can enable an automated wait list for an activity by checking the Enabled box under the Wait list section, followed by 'Send an automatic email notification when a spot becomes available'.

Automated wait lists automatically send email notifications to account owners when a spot opens, providing them with a limited time offer to register. Clicking on the 'Register now' button redirects them to your online store where they can complete the purchase. There are two types of automated wait lists: offer spots in order of registration, or offer spots to everyone at the same time.

๐Ÿ‘‰ Automated wait lists automatically update a participant's status in the wait list management page, depending on the action the client has taken. Click here to learn more about how you can manage your automated wait list(s).

๐Ÿ™‹ Offer Spots in Order of Registration

This type of configuration automatically sends one email at a time, starting with the first participant on the wait list. If the first participant chooses not to register or the

time allowed has elapsed, an email will be sent to the next person, etc.

  • When the first participant is sent the email, they must respond within the time period allowed. If they select 'Remove me from waitlist' or do not respond in time, they lose the ability to register to the activity and an email is sent to the next participant on the wait list.

  • Only the participant whose turn it is to register can proceed with purchasing the activity in your store, as long as the time allowed has not elapsed. Registration is closed to everyone else.

  • If everyone on the wait list has been approached but no one claims the spot, it becomes open to everyone in the store.

๐Ÿคผโ€โ™‚๏ธ Offer Spots to Everyone at Once

This type of configuration automatically sends an email to everyone on the wait list at the same time. If no one registers within the time allowed, the spot becomes available to everyone in the store.

  • When the email is sent, participants on the wait list can claim the open spot on a first come, first serve basis.

  • Only people already on the wait list can proceed with purchasing the activity in your store if the time allowed has not elapsed. Registration is closed to everyone else.

  • If no one on the wait list has claimed the spot, and/or the time allowed has elapsed, the spot will be open to everyone in your store.


4. What Clients and Administrators can Expect in the Store

As soon as an activity's wait list is enabled (regardless of if it is manual or automated), changes will appear in the store on the activity's display when it's full.

  • Clients will see a +Wait list button instead of a button to register. They cannot see how many participants are on the wait list.

  • Admins will see the +Wait list button underneath the orange button to register. They can see how many participants are currently on the wait list.

Client view Admin view

For Clients

After clicking the +Wait list button, clients will see a new screen where they must:

  • Select the account member to add to the wait list. If the account member is not already there, they can + Add a person to be selected to add to the wait list. You can only add one participant at a time to the wait list.

  • Update the account owner's contact phone number and email (if necessary). This email is used to notify the account owner when a spot opens.

๐Ÿ‘‰ Keep in mind that the contact information provided here will update the account owner's Email in their Personal Info (not to be confused with their username).

For Admins

Even if the activity is sold-out, the admin retains the ability to register clients and add them to the wait list. The process of adding a participant to the wait list is identical to the one described above for clients. Keep in mind that administrators can only add participants to the wait list when the activity is full and the participant is eligible for the activity.

Click here to learn about managing manual/automated wait lists and to view our FAQ.

Did this answer your question?