There are two ways you can initiate a purchase cancellation via the Clients>Accounts subtab:

  • Access the customer account by clicking on their name.

  • Click on Purchases; or

  • Click on Client Billing.

  • From the chosen subtab, click on the Invoice of the purchase you wish to cancel. This will open the detail invoice.

  • Next, click on Cancel/refund item.

  • Check the box(es) next to the purchase(s) you wish to cancel, and then specify your credit and refund amounts. You must specify the credit and refund amounts separately.

Credit Amount: What proportion of this purchase’s value should the client be entitled to get back? This might be the full amount, a percentage of the full amount, or the full amount minus administrative penalties.

You can give a partial credit when you Add an administrative fee/penalty. Be sure to apply the appropriate ledger code to this fee.

NOTE: When crediting a percentage, applicable promotions will also be adjusted according to the specified percentage. However, Multi-Person and Combo promotions are excluded, as they will always be credited 100% and applied again if necessary. Be sure to check the client's account balance to make sure the credited amount corresponds to the one you entered.

Refund Amount: The actual amount you are agreeing to give back to your client. 

To fully credit and reimburse a client, you would credit the full amount and refund the full amount.

To leave a credit in the account, credit the client the desired amount, but do not submit a refund

Once you have configured the correct credit and refund amounts, press Save and the cancellation/credit/refund will be processed.

If you chose to refund a client, you'll notice a status next to the refund. Please note that the client's Current Balance will stay positive while the refund has the "Processing" status.



Related Articles

Did this answer your question?